Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure has become the first player to be named African Football African Footballer of the Year four years in a row.

Toure overcame the challenge of Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama.

Samuel Eto’o, currently with Everton, is the only other player to win the African Footballer of the Year award four times, but he did not manage this in successive years.

Other multiple winners include Ivory Coast striker Chesea’s Didier Drogba, a two-time winner in 2006 and 2009, Liberian forward George Weah who won it on three occasions in 1989, 1994 (shared with Emmanuel Amunike) and 1995, Ghana’s Abedi Pele who also won a hat-trick of titles from 1991 to 1994, and of course Cameroon striker, Roger Milla, who first won the award in 1976 and again 14 years later, following his explots at Italia 90.

Each of them can lay claim to have been the greatest African footballer of all time, but narrowing that illustrious shortlist down to one player is almost impossible. Instead, let’s enjoy the players at their best.

Roger Milla

Abedi Pele

George Weah

Samuel Eto’o

Didier Drogba

Yaya Toure

Previous winners:

1970: Salif Keita (St Etienne, France and Mali)
1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
1972: Cherif Souleymane (Hafia and Guinea)
1973: Tshimen Bwanga (TP Mazembe Englebert and Zaire)
1974: Paul Moukila (CARA Brazzaville and Congo)
1975: Ahmed Faras (Mohammedia and Morocco)
1976: Roger Milla (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1977: Tarak Dhiab (Esperance and Tunisia)
1978: Karim Abdoul Razak (Asante Kotoko and Ghana)
1979: Thomas Nkono (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Canon Yaounde and Cameroon)
1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (GCR Mascara and Algeria)
1982: Thomas Nkono (Espanyol, Spain and Cameroon)
1983: Mahmoud Al Khatib (Al Ahli and Egypt)
1984: Theophile Abega (Toulouse, France and Cameroon)
1985: Mohamed Timoumi (Royal Armed Forces and Morocco)
1986: Badou Ezaki (Real Mallorca, Spain and Morocco)
1987: Rabah Madjer (FC Porto, Portugal and Algeria)
1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Cercle Bruges, Belgium and Zambia)
1989: George Weah (Monaco, France and Liberia)
1990: Roger Milla (St Denis, Reunion and Cameroon)
1991: Abedi Pele Ayew (Marseille, France and Ghana)
1992: Abedi Pele Ayew (Marseille, France and Ghana)
1993: Abedi Pele Ayew (Lyonnais, France and Ghana)
1994: George Weah (Paris St Germain, France and Liberia) and Emmanuel Amunike (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal and Nigeria)
1995: George Weah (Milan, Italy and Liberia)
1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Inter Milan, Italy and Nigeria)
1997: Victor Ikpeba (Monaco, France and Nigeria)
1998: Mustapha Hadji (Deportivo Coruna, Spain and Morocco)
1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal, England and Nigeria)
2000: Patrick Mboma (Parma, Italy and Cameroon)
2001: El Hadji Diouf (Rennes, France and Senegal)
2002: El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool, England and Senegal)
2003: Samuel Eto’o (Real Mallorca, Spain and Cameroon)
2004: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
2005: Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona, Spain and Cameroon)
2006: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
2007: Frederic Kanoute (Sevilla, Spain and Mali)
2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, England and Togo)
2009: Didier Drogba (Chelsea, England and Ivory Coast)
2010: Samuel Eto’o (Inter, Italy and Cameroon)
2011: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2012: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)
2013: Yaya Toure (Manchester City, England and Ivory Coast)

Read more:
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook