Every year we collate the votes from our colleagues in European Sports Media to determine the Team of the Season. The Team of the Season is based on appearances in the ESM Team of the Month throughout the season. Here’s the ESM XI for 2020-21.

ESM XI – 2020-21

Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid, 5 appearances)

Jan Oblak of Atletico de Madrid saves a penalty from Joselu of Deportivo Alaves during the La Liga Santander match between Atletico de Madrid and Deportivo Alavés at Estadio Wanda Metropolitano on March 21, 2021 in Madrid, Spain. 

Achraf Hakimi (Internazionale, 3 appearances)
Ruben Dias (Manchester City, 5 appearances)
John Stones (Manchester City, 2 appearances)
Joao Cancelo (Manchester City, 4 appearances)

Ruben Dias of Manchester City scores his team’s first goal during the Premier League match between Manchester City and West Ham United at Etihad Stadium on February 27, 2021 in Manchester, England. 

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, 4 appearances)
Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City, 3 appearances)
Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, 4 appearances)

Bruno Fernandes of Manchester United celebrates after scoring their team’s first goal during the UEFA Europa League Semi-final First Leg match between Manchester United and AS Roma at Old Trafford on April 29, 2021 in Manchester, England. 

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 6 appearances)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 3 appearances)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, 3 appearances)

Robert Lewandowski of FC Bayern Muenchen celebrates after scoring their side’s fifth goal during the Bundesliga match between FC Bayern Muenchen and Borussia Moenchengladbach at Allianz Arena on May 08, 2021 in Munich, Germany. 


A Bola (Portugal), Fanatik (Turkey), Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (Germany), La Gazzetta dello Sport (Italy), Kicker (Germany), Marca (Spain), Nemzeti Sport (Hungary), Sport-Express (Russia), Sport/Foot (Belgium), De Telegraaf (Netherlands), TIPS Bladet (Denmark), ElfVoetbal (Netherlands), World Soccer (England).

Graphic by Sean Phillips

Don’t forget that you can keep up-to-date throughout the season by clicking here.

Robert Lewandowski wins his first Golden Shoe
Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski has beaten Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to the 2020-21 European Golden Shoe. The 32-year-old claimed the award for the first time by scoring a record-breaking 41 goals in the Bundesliga. You can read more here