The nominess for the African Footballer of the Year have been announced by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Two-time winner Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon has again been nominate, along with Didier Drogba of the Cote d’Ivoire,, Togo’s Emmanuel Adebayor, Moroccan Marouane Chamakh and Ghanian midfielder Michael Essien.

The shortlist was compiled by the CAF media and technical committees and will be further cut to three players on November 19 with all CAF member-nations casting their votes.

Barcelona striker Eto’o has won the last two editions of the awards, in 2003 and 2004.

Nominees for the other award categories including the Young Player award and Coach of the Year will be announced later in the year.

Subscribe to World Soccer – The essential football magazine