Australia coach Guus Hiddink has named his 23-man squad on Wednesday for the World Cup in Germany.

Everton midfielder Tim Cahill was selected despite concerns about his injured knee from his club and Middlesbrough goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer was picked after recovering from a broken cheekbone.

“About 90 to 95 per cent of the positions were already picked… so at the end it wasn’t that difficult,” Hiddink said in a statement.

“There were only three positions to be decided. We already had in our heads the basic positions of the team but we needed to be flexible as well.

“(We’re) happy to be there but I know that the team is not settling down and just participating. This team is so eager to get a surprise to get into the second round.”

Australia squad
Mark Schwarzer (Middlesbrough), Zeljko Kalac (AC Milan), Ante Covic (Hammarby),

Michael Beauchamp (Central Coast), Craig Moore (Newcastle United), Lucas Neill (Blackburn Rovers), Tony Popovic Crystal Palace), Mark Milligan (Sydney FC),

Marco Bresciano (Parma), Tim Cahill (Everton), Scott Chipperfield (Basel), Jason Culina (PSV Eindhoven), Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers), Vince Grella (Parma), Stan Lazaridis (free agent), Josip Skoko (Stoke City on loan from Wigan Athletic), Mile Sterjovski (Basel), Luke Wilkshire (Bristol City)

John Aloisi (Alaves), Harry Kewell (Liverpool), Archie Thompson (PSV Eindhoven), Mark Viduka (Middlesbrough), Josh Kennedy (Dinamo Dreseden)

Subscribe to World Soccer – The essential football magazine.