Liverpool skipper Steven Gerrard may face disciplinary action by the Football Association after he appeared to hit Portsmouth’s Michael Brown on Monday.
The Reds captain, whose side beat Pompey 4-1, aimed a elbow at Brown’s head in the 73rd minute and was substituted immediately afterwards.
Referee Stuart Attwell gave a foul but may be asked to assess the match video.
Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez does not believe England midfielder Gerrard will face repercussions from the clash with Brown.
“I don’t think so,” said the Spaniard when asked if he was worried about retrospective action against Gerrard.
“I haven’t seen it but I was asking and I think it was nothing.”
Liverpool led 3-0 when Gerrard was taken off but Benitez insisted the substitution was not because of the incident and stated: “We were thinking of changing Fernando Torres, Glen Johnson and Gerrard and we did it.”
Portsmouth manager Avram Grant also did not see the incident.
“They told me the ref was four metres away so I think he needs to see from four metres what I didn’t from 40 metres,” said Grant.