Liverpoo’s Steven Gerrard has been voted the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year.

It is the first time the 25-year-old has been named player of the year by his fellow players, although he was Young Player of the Year in 2001 and came third in the main award last season.

Gerrard, who on Saturday helped Liverpool win their FA Cup semi-final over Chelsea, said: “I am still in shock.

“To go through to another FA Cup final and win this special award in the same weekend is fantastic for me.”

Wayne Rooney, the 20-year-old Manchester United striker, won the PFA Young Player of the Year award for the second successive season.

Rooney had been a contender for the senior player of the year prize – along with Gerrard, Arsenal striker Thierry Henry and the Chelsea trio Joe Cole, Frank Lampard and John Terry, who won last year.

Players receive two votes and Gerrard revealed that he had voted for Henry and England team-mate Rooney.

Rooney, 20, said he was pleased to again pick up the young player prize.

“To win it twice on the run is a great honour and I am delighted with the award,” Rooney said.

Rooney added: “I voted for Fabregas, but it was close between him and Darren Bent.”

Chelsea had the most players named in the Premiership Team of the Year with the inclusion of John Terry, William Gallas, Joe Cole and Frank Lampard.

Newcastle’s Shay Given was picked in goal while Wigan full-back Pascal Chimbonda was also included after a solid season for Paul Jewell’s side.

Player of the Year:
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Young Player of the Year:
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Premiership Team of the Year:
Shay Given (Newcastle), Pascal Chimbonda (Wigan), John Terry (Chelsea), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), William Gallas (Chelsea), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).

Subscribe to World Soccer – The essential football magazine.