Arsenal’s Robin van Persie has been recalled to the Dutch national side after almost 12 months in the international wilderness.

Holland, leaders in Group One a point above the Czech Republic, entertain Romania on June 4 in Rotterdam and travel to Finland four days later.

Van Persie was called up for the friendly international against Sweden at the start of the season but he has yet to win his first cap.

“Van Persie didn’t show enough against Sweden, while he was also hardly playing for his club at that time,” Van Basten told reporters.

“In the last months he has played many more matches and he also showed form.”

Van Basten has picked nine defenders in his squad as he tries to cope with the loss through injury of AZ Alkmaar pair Jan Kromkamp and Joris Mathijsen, Khalid Bhoulahrouz, Wilfred Bouma and Andre Ooijer.

“It’s difficult in defence because some players are doubtful, while the PSV players still have to play the (Dutch) Cup final (on Sunday) and (Barcelona’s Giovanni) van Bronckhorst has one match to go in Spain,” said Van Basten.

“And besides that there are also four players who will be suspended for the match against Finland if they are booked, therefore I picked 24 names but after the match against Romania I will reduce the squad to 18 players.”

Goalkeepers: Edwin van der Sar (Fulham), Henk Timmer (AZ Alkmaar)
Defenders: Khalid Bhoulahrouz (HSV Hamburg), Mario Melchiot (Birmingham City), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Johnny Heitinga, Nigel de Jong (both Ajax Amsterdam), Barry Opdam, Ron Vlaar (both AZ Alkmaar), Wilfred Bouma, Theo Lucius, Andre Ooijer (all PSV Eindhoven)
Midfielders: Mark van Bommel, Philip Cocu (both PSV Eindhoven), Hedwiges Maduro, Rafael van der Vaart (both Ajax), Denny Landzaat (AZ Alkmaar)
Forwards: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Chelsea), Dirk Kuijt (Feyenoord), Ryan Babel (Ajax), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Roy Makaay (Bayern Munich), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (PSV Eindhoven).