Greece captain Theodoros Zagorakis has been named as the JVC UEFA EURO 2004 Player of the Tournament.

The result was announced in Lisbon today by UEFA’s eight-man technical study group.

Zagorakis, 32, was an inspirational figure in Greece’s remarkable success. The AEK Athens midfielder was on the pitch for every minute of every game.

The EURO technical study group is made up of eight members; Roy Hodgson, Gérard Houllier, Anghel Iordanescu, György Mezey, Holger Osieck, Jozef Venglos, Berti Vogts and Andy Roxburgh. Each of these cast one vote for the Player of the Tournament, and the ninth vote came from supporters voting on UEFA’s official website.