Each month we collate the votes from our colleagues in European Sports Media to determine the Team of the Month. Here’s the ESM XI for May 2021.

ESM XI – May 2021


Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid, 5 votes)
Achraf Hakimi (Internazionale, 4 votes)
Ruben Dias (Manchester City, 7 votes)
Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, 6 votes)
Ben Chilwell (Chelsea, 4 votes)
N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, 11 votes)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid, 4 votes)
Mason Mount (Chelsea, 3 votes)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 10 votes)
Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, 10 votes)
Kai Havertz (Chelsea, 5 votes)

N’Golo Kante of Chelsea passes the ball during the Premier League match between Liverpool and Chelsea at Anfield on March 04, 2021 in Liverpool, England. 

ESM MEMBERS: A Bola (Portugal), Fanatik (Turkey), Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung (Germany), La Gazzetta dello Sport (Italy), Kicker (Germany), Marca (Spain), Nemzeti Sport (Hungary), Sport-Express (Russia), Sport/Foot (Belgium), De Telegraaf (Netherlands), TIPS Bladet (Denmark), ElfVoetbal (Netherlands), World Soccer (England).

Kai Havertz of Chelsea celebrates after scoring their side’s first goal during the UEFA Champions League Final between Manchester City and Chelsea FC at Estadio do Dragao on May 29, 2021 in Porto, Portugal. (Photo by Jose Coelho – Pool/Getty Images)

Graphic by Sean Phillips

Don’t forget that you can keep up-to-date throughout the season by clicking here.

Robert Lewandowski wins his first Golden Shoe
Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski has beaten Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi to the 2020-21 European Golden Shoe. The 32-year-old claimed the award for the first time by scoring a record-breaking 41 goals in the Bundesliga. You can read more here