Argentina have dropped captain Roberto Ayala, midfielder Juan Sebastian Veron and striker Hernan Crespo from their squad for the World Cup qualifier away to Peru on September 4.

Gabriel Milito, who plays for Real Zaragoza, replaces Ayala, Nicolas Medina from Sunderland will step in for Veron and Milito’s brother Diego will replace Crespo.

Argentine media speculated that another club versus country dispute might have been behind the decision to omit three of the country’s most high profile players. .

Argentina are second in the 10-nation South American World Cup qualifying group with 12 points, one less than leaders Brazil after seven games.

Revised squad:

Goalkeeper: Pablo Cavallero (Celta Vigo, Spain)

Defenders: Facundo Quiroga (VfL Wolfsburg, Germany), Fabricio Coloccini (AC Milan, Italy), Gabriel Milito (Real Zaragoza, Spain), Gabriel Heinze (Manchester United, England), Walter Samuel (Real Madrid, Spain)

Midfielders: Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan, Italy), Javier Mascherano (River Plate), Juan Pablo Sorin (Cruzeiro, Brazil), Diego Placente (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany), Pablo Aimar (Valencia), Andres D’Alessandro (Wolfsburg), Lionel Scaloni (Deportivo Coruna, Spain), Nicolas Medina (Sunderland, England)

Forwards: Carlos Tevez (Boca Juniors), Mauro Rosales (Newell’s Old Boys), Cesar Delgado (Cruz Azul/Cemeteros, Mexico), Cristian Gonzalez (Inter Milan), Mariano Gonzalez (Palermo, Italy), Diego Milito (Genoa, Italy)