Brett Emerton has landed the Oceania Footballer of the Year award, finishing ahead of fellow Austalians Harry Kewell and Mark Schwarzer.

The Feyenoord winger wins the prize for the first time in his career.

“It is a great achievement after finishing third in the previous year, and another boost for Australia and Oceania,” said Emerton.

Emerton received 64 votes, ahead of Leeds United striker Kewell who polled 46 votes, with Middlesbrough keeper Schwarzer finishing third with 39 votes.

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!