FIFA will relaunch the World Club Championship in 2005 with a six-team tournament being held in w Tokyo.

FIFA said that all six confederations had agreed to send their club champions.

The event will replace the annual Intercontinental Cup, or Toyota Cup, which has been played between the champions of South America and Europe since 1960.

The European and South American champions will compete from the semi-final stage, while the four other clubs – from Asia, Africa, North and Central America/Caribbean and Oceania will meet each other in a first round knock-out match to decide who qualifies for the semi-finals.

The first tournament took place in January 2000 in Brazil and was won by Brazilian club Corinthians but the next tournament, in Madrid in 2001, was cancelled due to the collapse of FIFA’s marketing company.