FIFA have named a shortlist of 35 players who will be in the running for this year’s FIFA World Player of the Year award.

Fifa’s Football Committee and the Technical and Development Committee produced the list and national coaches and captains will decide their winner.

Among those nominated is recent Manchester United signing Wayne Rooney, who is one of ten Premier League players up for the award.

Real Madrid are the club with the most players nominated with Beckham, Owen, Luis Figo, Raul, Roberto Carlos, Ronaldo and current holder Zinedine Zidane their contingent.

Adriano (Brazil)
Roberto Ayala (Argentina)
Michael Ballack (Germany)
Milan Baros (Czech Rep)
David Beckham (England)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
Cafu (Brazil)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Deco (Portugal)
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
Luis Figo (Portugal)
Steven Gerrard (England)
Ryan Giggs (Wales)
Thierry Henry (France)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
Oliver Kahn (Germany)
Kaka (Brazil)
Frank Lampard (England)
Henrik Larsson (Sweden)
Roy Makaay (Holland)
Paolo Maldini (Italy)
Pavel Nedved (Czech Rep)
Alessandro Nesta (Italy)
Michael Owen (England)
Robert Pires (France)
Raul (Spain)
Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
Ronaldinho (Brazil)
Ronaldo (Brazil)
Wayne Rooney (England)
Andrej Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland)
Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
Zinedine Zidane (France)

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!