Five African countries are expected to announce their intent to host the 2010 World Cup finals ahead of tonight’s deadline.

Egypt, Libya, Morocco, South Africa and Tunisia have all expressed their desire to stage the tournament, which Fifa president Sepp Blatter has already declared will be the first ever held on the continent.

South Africa, who narrowly missed out on hosting the 2006 tournament are favourirtes to host the 2010 finals, although they are expected to face stiff competition, especially from Morocco who have contested three unsuccessful bids.

According to the Fifa schedule, all federations must submit an expression of intent by the end of the year. Fifa will then send each federation a list of requirements they will have to fulfil before being considered potential hosts.

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!