Arsenal striker Thierry Henry is set to become the first Frenchman to win the ESM Golden Shoe.

After the completion of the major leagues at the weekend, Henry leads the rankings produced to determine the leading goalscorer in Europe each season. The Arsenal forward has edged out Werder Bremen striker Ailton and Auxerre’s Djibril Cisse.

The final list will not be issued until mid-June when all the European domestic leagues have been completed.

Henry will become the first player from the English Premier League to win the award since Kevin Phillips in 1999-2000.