Arsenal’s Thierry Henry has become the first player to win the Footballer of the Year award in successive seasons.

The French striker dominated the polling securing 87% of the votes cast by the English Football Writers’ Association.

“It is a real honour to receive this award for the second year running,’ admitted Henry.

“But, as I always say, it would not have been possible without my team-mates and, of course, the manager.

“When I collected this award last season I would have swapped it for a team award but thankfully this year we have won the title so I can really enjoy it this time around.

“You know we have a special group of players at Arsenal and an amazing team spirit.

“I love being part of this team and really believe we have a big future.”

Chelsea’s England star Frank Lampard was second, while Henry’s teammate Patrick Vieira was third.

The award comes two weeks after he was named the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year for the second successive season.