England coach Roy Hodgson has included 18-year-old Marcus Rashford in his final 23-man squad for Euro 2016.

Hodgson chose to omit Leicester City’s Danny Drinkwater and the Newcastle United winger Andros Townsend from the remaining 25 available players as he cut his party down to 23 for Uefa’s May 31 deadline.

Rashford only made his debut for Manchester United in February, but he scored in that game and also on his senior England debut against Australia on Friday.

There was also a place for Daniel Sturridge after he proved he had recovered fully from his latest calf injury, which had ruled him out of Friday’s friendly victory over Australia. The Liverpool forward will hope to play some part in England’s final friendly match against Portugal on Thursday.

England head to Chantilly, to the north of Paris, on Monday, ready for their opening Group B fixture, against Russia in Marseille, on 11 June.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Fraser Forster (Southampton).

Defenders: John Stones (Everton), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Danny Rose (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal), James Milner (Liverpool).

Forwards: Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Harry Kane (Tottenham).