Chelsea and England midfielder Frank Lampard has been voted the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year award.

The 26-year-old has been instrumental in Chjelsea’s success this season, scoring 12 goals as the club cruised to their first League title in 50 years.

Lampard was chosen ahead of his Chelsea team-mate John Terry, who picked up the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award last month, while Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher came in third place.

He is also only the third Englishman to win it since Alan Shearer in 1994, with Teddy Sheringham the other in 2001.

Gerry Cox, chairman of the Football Writers Association, said: “It was a close-run thing between the two Chelsea team-mates until a fortnight ago, but Frank Lampard ended up winning by a substantial margin.

“John Terry has been a huge player for Chelsea in what has been a fantastic season for the Blues, but Lampard has clearly convinced our members that he is the best player in the country and right up there with the world’s leading players.

“His all-round game is superb, his fitness phenomenal and the fact that he has weighed in with 18 goals this season makes him something special for any team.”