Premiership top scorer James Beattie and last year’s winner Ruud Van Nistelrooy are among the playersnominated for this years PFA player of the year award.

As well as the two strikers, Nistelrooy’s team mate Paul Scholes, Arsenal’s Tierry Henry, Newcastle’s Alan Shearer and Chelsea’s veteran Gianfranco Zola have been nominated for the prestigious award. Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira is a surprise omission from the shortlist

The nominations for the Young Player of the Year Award have also been decided. Last year’s winner Craig Bellamy has again been selected, along with his Newcastle team mate Jermaine Jenas.

The other players nominated for the award are Everton’s wonderkid Wayne Rooney, Charlton’s Scott Parker, Manchester United’s John O’Shea and West Ham striker Jermaine Defoe.

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!