Ruud van Nistelrooy, Philip Cocu and Arjen Robben have been recalled to the Dutch squad for this month’s World Cup qualifiers against Macedonia and Finland.

The three players missed Holland’s 2-0 win over the Czech Republic in their opening Group One match.

Newcastle United striker Patrick Kluivert and Clarence Seedorf of Milan were left out of the 21-man squad.

“Patrick Kluivert is a luxury problem,” coach Marco Van Basten said.

“We have so many good in-form strikers and it is of no use picking six or seven.

“Patrick is doing well at the moment after a long absence and it is his job to give us a tough job selecting the squad.”

Goalkeepers: Edwin van der Sar (Fulham), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax Amsterdam)

Defenders: Khalid Bhoulahrouz (Hamburg SV), John Heitinga (Ajax Amsterdam), Nigel de Jong (Ajax Amsterdam), Wilfred Bouma (PSV Eindhoven), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Kevin Hofland (Wolfsburg)

Midfielders: Mark van Bommel (PSV Eindhoven), Rafael van der Vaart (Ajax Amsterdam), Edgar Davids (Barcelona), Wesley Sneijder (Ajax Amsterdam), Denny Landzaat (AZ Alkmaar), Philip Cocu (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Pierre van Hooijdonk (Fenerbahce), Roy Makaay (Bayern Munich), Romeo Castelen (Feyenoord), Dave van den Bergh (Utrecht), Dirk Kuijt (Feyenoord), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Chelsea)

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!