Thierry Henry, Andrei Shevchenko and Ronaldinho have been shortlisted for the Fifa World Player of the Year award.

The attacking trio have been selected from the original shortlist of 35 players put up for the award.

None of the three players have won the award before, although Henry was runner-up in last year’s competition, which was won by Zinedine Zidane.

The winner will be named on 20 December at Fifa’s World Player Gala, which will be held at Zurich’s Opera house.

The three shortlisted candidates for the women’s award are Mia Hamm of the United States, Germany’s Birgit Prinz and Brazilian youngster Marta.

This year, in a break with tradition, male and female captains of every national team will be able to vote, as well as their coaches and Fipro, the global organization for professional soccer players.