The draw for the Group stage of the UEFA Cup has been made in Nyon.

Forty qualifiers were divided into eight groups of five as the competition adopts a group system for the first time in its history.

Each club will play two matches at home and two away on the following dates: 21 October, 4 November, 25 November, 1/2 December, 15/16 December.

The winners, runners-up and third-placed clubs from each group will advance to the last 32 where they are joined by the eight third-placed clubs from the Champions League group stage.

The competition will then revert to a two-leg knock-out format.

The final will be played in Lisbon’s Jose Alvalade Stadium on 18 May 2005.

UEFA Cup draw

Group A
Feyenoord, Schalke 04, Basle, HEARTS, Ferencvaros.

Group B
Parma, Besiktas, Athletic Bilbao, Steaua Bucharest, Standard Liege.

Group C
Club Brugge, Real Zaragoza, Utrecht, Dnipro, Austria Vienna.

Group D
NEWCASTLE, Sporting Lisbon, Sochaux, Panionios, Dinamo Tblisi.

Group E
Lazio, Villarreal, MIDDLESBROUGH, Partizan Belgrade, Egaleo

Group F
RANGERS, Auxerre, Grazer AK, Amica Wronki, AZ Alkmaar

Group G
Vfb Stuttgart, Benfica, Dinamo Zagreb, Heerenveen, Beveren.

Group H
AEK Athens, Lille, Sevilla, Alemania Aachen, Zenit St Petersburg.