Arsenal and France striker Thierry Henry has been selected in the users’ team of the year for an unprecedented fourth time in succession.

Henry has now been selected every year since the award’s 2001 inception and was the only ever-present named in the 2004 team chosen by votes cast on UEFA’s official website.

There are three players from Portuguese players – midfielder Maniche and defender Ricardo Carvalho from Porto’s Champions League-winning side and Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo and Portugal’s Jose Mourinho is named as coach for the second successive year.

Among six newcomers to the team areBrazil and Milan full back Cafu, Arsenal left back Ashley Cole, and Barcelona and Brazil forward Ronaldinho.

UEFA.COM team of 2004:
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus and Italy); Cafu (Milan and Brazil), Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea and Portugal), Alessandro Nesta (Milan and Italy), Ashley Cole (Arsenal and England); Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United and Portugal), Maniche (Porto and Portugal), Ronaldinho (Barcelona and Brazil), Pavel Nedved (Juventus and Czech Republic); Thierry Henry (Arsenal and France), Andriy Shevchenko (Milan and Ukraine).

Coach: Jose Mourinho (Chelsea).