With 12 places at stake, Europe’s leading countries have the chance to book their places in next year’s World Cup finals.

Of the 51 European teams involved in the qualification process, only hosts Germany and Group Two winners Ukraine are guaranteed a place.

Holland, Portugal and Italy can all top their respective groups – and therefore reach next year’s finals – by avoiding defeat on Saturday.

Sweden and France will also definitely go through on Saturday with wins.

In Group Two the tightest group of the lot, three teams – Turkey, Denmark and Euro 2004 winners Greece – are still in contention for runners-up spot, but the issue cannot be settled until Wednesday.

England, who are under some pressure following their 1-0 defeat to Northern Ireland last month, can guarantee qualification from Group Six as one of the two best runners-up if they win at home to Austria on Saturday and Holland beat the Czech Republic.

However, if England fail to beat Austria then Poland can qualify as group winners leaving Sven-Goran Eriksson’s team to enter the play-offs.

Serbia & Montenegro lead Group Seven and will definitely qualify with victory over Lithuania if Spain and Bosnia-Herzegovina both fail to win on Saturday.

Group One
Czech Republic v Netherlands
Finland v Romania

Group Two
Denmark v Greece
Georgia v Kazakhstan
Ukraine v Albania

Group Three
Portugal v Liechtenstein
Russia v Luxembourg
Slovakia v Estonia

Group Four
Cyprus v Ireland
Switzerland v France
Israel v Faroe Islands

Group Five
Italy v Slovenia
Norway v Moldova
Scotland v Belaru

Group Six
England v Austria
Northern Ireland v Wales

Group Seven
Lithuania v Serbia/Montenegro
Belgium v Spain
Bosnia-Herzegovina v San Marino

Group Eight
Bulgaria v Hungary
Croatia v Sweden