Arsenal striker Thierry Henry has won his second award in a week when he was named Footballer of the Year by the English Football Writers’ Association (FWA).

Henry, who claimed the Professional Footballers’ Association award on Sunday, topped the poll ahead of Manchester United forward Ruud van Nistelrooij and former England captain Alan Shearer of Newcastle United. He becomesthe fourth French winner of the FWA award, following in the footsteps of Eric Cantona, David Ginola and last year’s winner, Robert Pires.

FWA chairman Gerry Cox said: “Thierry Henry is a worthy winner who has scored some magnificent goals this season and made another massive contribution to Arsenal’s season.

“Henry made all the early running when the poll opened, but was challenged by Van Nistelrooy in a race which mirrored Arsenal and Manchester United’s fight for the title.”

Henry becomes the 11th player to win both the PFA and FWA trophies in the same season. H