Bruce Arena has named the USA’s 23-man squad for the World Cup.

Arena has picked a combination of domestic and European-based players.

“I feel very good about this group of players,” Arena said. “It’s a group that will challenge anybody on the field in this World Cup.

“We have 12 players returning with World Cup experience, so I think we have fantastic leadership.

Arena singled out his captain, Manchester City’s fit-again Claudio Reyna, for special mention.

“Claudio now positions himself, as well as Kasey Keller, as one of the few players in the history of our sport to be involved in four World Cups.

“I expect Claudio’s leadership qualities and his experience to be invaluable. Besides that he’s an exceptional player and we need Claudio to be on top of his game.

“So, those are the expectations of Claudio – to be our leader and to be one of our best players.”

Arena has guided the USA to their fifth successive World Cup finals.

Goalkeepers: Kasey Keller (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Tim Howard (Manchester United), Marcus Hahnemann (Reading).

Defenders: Carlos Bocanegra (Fulham), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Cory Gibbs (ADO Den Haag), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Eddie Lewis (Leeds Utd), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard Liege), Eddie Pope (Real Salt Lake).

Midfielders: DaMarcus Beasley (PSV Eindhoven), Bobby Convey (Reading), Clint Dempsey (New England Revolution), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), John O’Brien (Chivas USA), Ben Olsen (DC United), Claudio Reyna (Manchester City).

Forwards: Eddie Johnson (Kansas City Wizards), Brian McBride (Fulham), Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)

Subscribe to World Soccer – The essential football magazine.