Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2016 Ballon d’Or award.

It is the fourth time the Real Madrid forward has won the award, which places him one behind Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, who finished second this year. Atletico Madrid’s French forward Antoine Griezmann finished third.

The Portuguese forward is now one behind Barcelona’s Messi, who took the honour for a fifth time last year.

The 31-year-old had previously won the Ballon d’Or in 2014, when it had been merged with the Fifa World Player of the Year accolade, as well as in 2013 and 2008.

Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win last season’s Champions League and scored three goals as Portugal won Euro 2016.

““A great honour to receive my fourth golden ball,” said Ronaldo. “The emotion is like the first one. It’s the dream come true again.

“I never thought in my mind that I would win the Golden Ball four times. I am pleased. I feel so proud and happy,” said Ronaldo.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.”

“So as you can imagine I feel so proud and happy to receive this amazing and beautiful ball.”

Final positions for 2016 Ballon d’Or

1 – Cristiano Ronaldo
2 – Lionel Messi
3 – Antoine Griezmann
4 – Luis Suarez
5 – Neymar
6 – Gareth Bale
7 – Riyad Mahrez
8 – Jamie Vardy
9= – Pepe
9= – Gianluigi Buffon
11 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
12 – Rui Patricio
13 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic
14= – Arturo Vidal
14= – Paul Pogba
16 – Robert Lewandowski
17= – Dimitri Payet
17= – Toni Kroos
17= – Luka Modric