Senegal striker El Hadji Diouf has been named African Footballer of the Year for the second successive year.

The Liverpool striker emulates Abedi Pele of Ghana and Liberian George Weah as the only players to retain the trophy since the award was created in 1970.

Diouf finished ahead of his Senegal team mate Pape BoubaDiop of Lens. Third place went to Egyptian striker Ahmed Hossam, who recently moved on loan from Ajax to Celta Vigo.

Following their Wortld Cup exploits, Senegal dominated the awards, taking the Team of the Year title award, while former coach Bruno Metsu was named Coach of the Year. Tony Sylva, the Seenegal keeper who plays for Monaco, was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

Cairo club Zamalek won the Club of the Year award and Ahmed Hossam won the Young Player of the Year award. Raja Casablanca striker Hicham Aboucherouane took the title of best player in last year’s African Champions League.