Lyon secured their fourth Ligue 1 title in a row with a 2-1 win over Ajaccio on Sunday.

Lyon joined former greats St Etienne and Marseille in becoming the only clubs to be crowned champions four times in succession.

St Etienne dominated French football from 1967 to 1970 while Marseille were champions from 1989 to 1992.

“I’m just happy for the guys tonight,” said coach Paul Le Guen.

“We had a fabulous side this season. We deserved this title.

“We fought from the start of the season and we provided a level of play which was steady and fantastic. We were a great side.”

Club chairman Jean-Michel Aulas said that the success could act be a stepping stone to Champions League glory.

“We are going to make some extra financial efforts for the next season,” Aulas said. “We are going to chase a fifth title in a row but we will also look to win the Champions League.

“We want to go to the Stade de France where the 2006 final will take place. To me, having the final in Paris looks like a sign of destiny.”

“Now we are just like St Etienne and Olympique Marseille,” said midfielder Mahamadou Diarra. “It really means something. I’m just proud to be part of it.

“One title is something great for a club but four titles are almost unbelievable,” said chairman Jean-Michel Aulas. “It’s the result of long and patient work over the last 10 years.”

“We’re obviously a great team,” added striker Sylvain Wiltord. “I came here from Arsenal to take on a new challenge and I’ve ended up with a title. It’s just happiness and Lyon will again be the team to watch next season.”