The complicated seeding structure for the second phase of the Champion’s league means British representatives will each face a Spanish and Italian side as they aim for a place in the quarter-finals.

Manchester United will definitely face Deportivo La Coruna, Arsenal will play Roma and Newcastle’s reward for qualification will be a trip to the San Siro to play either Inter or Milan.

The competition prevents clubs from the same country playing against each other in the group phase. Half of theremaining sixteen are from Serie A and La Liga, ensuring that each group will have a Spanish and Italian representative.

Group winners being seeded for the draw further complicate the groups. With Real Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia all in that category, as well as the Old Trafford side – it means they have to face Deportivo.

Both Arsenal and Newcastle will also face one of the three remaining Spanish giants.

The draw takes place tomorrow at 11.30 CET.

The Seeding:
Pot Two: Juventus, Arsenal, Inter, and Milan.
Pot Four: Lokomotiv Moscow, Ajax, Newcastle, and Basle.