Timmy Simons has been named the Belgian Player of the Year award after a poll of the country’s press.

The Club Brugge midfield player won the Golden Shoe ahead of the leading scorer in Belgian domestic football, Genk’s Wesley Sonck, and St. Truiden’s Danny Boffin.

“I am surprised by the award,” said Simons, who impressed for Belgium during the FIFA World Cup and played a key role in helping Brugge win the domestic title.

“I always thought thateither Sonck or Boffin would win it as a forward and a playmaker have more chances to do spectacular things than a defensive player like me.

“I am especially happy with the fact that I am the first player from Brugge to win the trophy since my idol Franky Van Der Elst in 1996,” he added.

“It is great to have him win the prize,” said Belgium coach Aim‚ Anthuenis.