The UEFA team of the year, voted for by users of the official website of the sport’s governing body, has been unveiled with Real Madrid heading the list of nominations with three players included in the final eleven. confirmed that 900,000 people voted for the team of 2002, which produced three players from European Champions Real Madrid.

Roberto Carlos was the only player in the ballot to command a majority of the vote, receiving 54% of those polled for his position. Fellow Real Madrid player Zinedine Zidane, received the next highest vote, collecting 44 per cent of the votes for the ‘attacking midfielder’ role. His compatriot Thierry Henry, was, along with Zidane, the only player to have been selected two years in succession.

Goalkeeper: Rustu Recber (Fenerbahce and Turkey)
Defenders: Carlos Puyol (Barcelona and Spain), Alessandro Nesta (Milan and Italy), Cristian Chivu (Ajax and Romania), Roberto Carlos (Real Madrid and Brazil)
Midfielders: Clarence Seedorf (Milan and the Netherlands), Michael Ballack (Bayern Munich and Germany), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid and France), Damien Duff (Blackburn Rovers and Ireland)
Forwards: Thierry Henry (Arsenal and France), Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Brazil)
Coach: Senol Gunes (Turkey)