Germany coach Jurgen Klinsmann has named his 23-man World Cup squad.

The one major surprise is the inclusion of uncapped 22-year-old midfielder David Odonkor.

Klinsmann has dropped Fabian Ernst and Patrick Owomoyela but has called up Jens Nowotny to bolster his defence.

Striker Mike Hanke has also been selected, despite the fact he will miss the first two games of the competition because of the red card he received at last summer’s Confederations Cup.

Germany squad

Goalkeepers: Jens Lehmann (Arsenal/ENG), Oliver Kahn (Bayern Munich) Timo Hildebrand (VfB Stuttgart).

Defenders: Arne Friedrich (Hertha Berlin), Robert Huth (Chelsea), Marcell Jansen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Per Mertesacker (Hannover), Christoph Metzelder (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Jens Nowotny (Bayer Leverkusen).

Midfielders: Michael Ballack (Chelsea), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Tim Borowski (Werder Bremen), Torsten Frings (Werder Bremen), Sebastian Kehl (Borussia Dortmund), Bernd Schneider (Bayer Leverkusen), Thomas Hitzlsperger (VfB Stuttgart), David Odonkor (Borussia Dortmund).

Fowards: Miroslav Klose (Werder Bremen), Lukas Podolski (FC Cologne), Mike Hanke (VfL Wolfsburg), Oliver Neuville (Borussia Monchengladbach), Gerald Asamoah (Schalke 04).