Angola, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire and Togo have reached the World Cup finals for the first time where they will be joined by traditional powerhouse Tunisia.

Group One
Togo came from behind twice to win 3-2 in Congo and finish first in Group 1, leaving 2002 World Cup quarter-finalists Senegal, who won 3-0 in Liberia, to miss out.

Group Two
Ghana made it to the finals, winning 4-0 against the Cape Verde Islands while closest Group 2 challengers Condo DR drew 2-2 in South Africa.

Group Three
Ivory Coast overcame 3-1 in Sudan, but endured a nervy passage as Pierre Wome of Cameroon struck a post with a stoppage-time penalty against Egypt in a 1-1 draw. Had Wome scored, Cameroon would have stayed top of Group 3, and gone to the World Cup a record fifth consecutive time.

Group Four
Angola scored with 10 minutes left to win 1-0 in Rwanda and in the process deny Nigeria a place in their fourth successive finals. Nigeria defeated Zimbabwe 5-1 at home to leave the level on 21 points each in Group 4, but the Angolans boasted a superior head-to-head record.

Group Five
Tunisia came from behind twice to draw 2-2 with runners-up Morocco, who had Aziz Ben Askar sent off 11 minutes from full-time.