Zinedine Zidane has been voted the FIFA World Player of the Year for the third time, edging out Thierry Henry and Ronaldo.

Zidane, who was arguably the outsider of the three, also won the award in 1998 and 2000.

The 31-year-old Real Madrid midfielder received 264 points with Henry second on 186 and Ronaldo third on 176 following a poll of 142 national team coaches.

Juventus’ Pavel Nedved was fourth with Madrid’s Roberto Carlos in fifth place.

“It doesn’t matter how many times you win an award, it is always very special,” said Zidane.

“And it is even more special when it is voted by the coaches. It is a major honour for me and I am very proud to have won it.” Z

Meanwhile, Brazil were awarded the team of the year award while Celtic’s supporters won the Fair Play award for their role in the club’s UEFA Cup defeat to POrto last season.

“Celtic is a unique club with many thousands of fantastic supporters,” said Celtic’s executive director Peter Lawwell.

“This award is a tribute to all of them, as they showed in Seville last year, they are the best fans in the world.”

2001: Luis Figo (Real Madrid)
1999: Rivaldo (Barcelona)
1997: Ronaldo (Inter)
1995: George Weah (Milan)
Roberto Baggio (Juventus) 1992
L Matthaeus (Inter)