Date: June 18, 2016

Result: Iceland 1 Hungary 1


Iceland G Sigurdsson 39pen

Hungary Svaersson 88og

Venue: Stade Velodrome, Marseille

Match overview:

An own goal by defender Birkir Saevarsson denied Iceland a first European Championship victory after they drew 1-1 with Hungary in Bordeaux. Iceland had taken the lead in the first-half  thanks to a controversial defender and had defended valiantly for most of the second half. But a cross Hungarian substitute Nemanja Nikolic’s cross was turned into his own net by the unfortunate Saevarsson in the 88th minute.

Key moment:

Iceland’s opening goal, penalty converted by Gylfi Sigurdsson after Hungary keeper Gabor Kiraly had spilled the ball. In the scramble to clear the ball, Tamas Kadar adjudged to have fouled Aron Gunnarsson but it was a harsh decision.

Man of the match:

Gylfi Sigurdsson put Iceland ahead after a harsh penalty award, but his namesake Ranar had kept Iceland in the game with a series of important challenges

Matter of fact:

Eidur Gudjohnsen became the fifth oldest outfield player to play at the Euros after Matthaus, Olsen, Vastic & Carvalho.

Talking point:

Hungary’s black-shirted fans celebrated their late equaliser as if it were the winner. But earlier riot police had been called into the stand at Marseille’s Stade Velodrome after the Hungarians clashed with stadium stewards.


Goal attempts

Iceland: 5

Hungary: 21

Attempts on target

Iceland: 2

Hungary: 4


Iceland: 3

Hungary: 5



01 Hannes Halldorsson

02 Birkir Saevarsson

06 Ragnar Sigurdsson

07 Johann Gudmundsson

08 Birkir Bjarnason

09 Kolbainn Sigthorsson (22 Gudjohnsen 84)

10 Gylfi Sigurdsson

14 Kari Arkansan

15 Jon Dadi Bodvarsson (11 Alfred Finnnbogason 69)

17 Aron Gunnarsson (20 Emil Hallfredsson 65)

23 Ari Skulason

Starting formation: 4-4-2

Halldorsson – Savarsson,  R Sigurdsson, Arnason, Skulason – Gudmundsson, G Sigurdsson, Gunnarsson, Bjarnason – Sigthorsson, Bodvarsson


01 Gabor Kiraly

02 Adam Lang

04 Tamas Kadar

07 Balazs Dzsudzsak

08 Adam Nagy

10 Zoltan Gera

15 Laszlo Kleinheisler

18 Zoltan Stieber (17 Nemanja Nikolic 67)

19 Tamas Priskin (13 Daniel Bode 67)

20 Richard Guzmics

23 Roland Juhasz (09 Adam Szalai 85)

Starting formation; 4-3-3

Kiraly – Lang, Guzmics, Juhasz, Kadar – Kleinheisler, Gera, Nagy – Stieber, Priskin, Dzsudzsak

Yellow cards:

Iceland: Gudmundsson 41, Finnbogason 74, Saevarsson 77

Hungary: Kadar 81, Kleinheisler 83, Nagy 90

Referee: Sergei Karasev (Rus)