Tunisia and Libya’s hopes of co-hosting the 2010 World Cup finals are oveer following FIFA’s ruling that only one African nation will host the tournament.

As well as the joint Tunisia and Libya bid, South Africa, Morocco and Egypt are also hoping to become the first African host of the World Cup.

FIFA announced its decision after a meeting of the world body’s executive committee in Frankfurt.

“The executive… confirmed that, as a matter of principle, only one association will be entitled to host a FIFA World Cup,” said FIFA in a statement.

Japan and South Korea co-hosted the 2002 tournament but FIFA has often said it was a one-off exception.

Kelsey Media Ltd
The Granary, Downs Court
Yalding Hill
Kent ME18 6AL
01959 541444

© 2022 Kelsey Media Ltd

Save 50% today!

Subscribe to World Soccer magazine and receive your first 13 issues for only £38.94!