Thierry Henry has won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award for the second successive season.

The Frenchman won ahead of fellow nominees Frank Lampard, who was second, Steven Gerrard (third), Alan Shearer, Jay-Jay Okocha and Patrick Vieira. The award is voted for by Henry’s fellow professionals and in winning for a second successive season, Henry joins Alan Shearer and Mark Hughes as the only players to have the trophy twice.

Chelsea midfielder Scott Parker was selected as the young player of the year, beating his captain John Terry.

Henry was also a member ofthe PFA’s Premiership team of the season, alongside five other Arsenal players: Patrick Vieira, Robert Pires, Sol Campbell, Lauren and Ashley Cole.

“I am quite lucky to play in a special team,” Henry said.

“The strikers grab the headlines but I have special players around me.

“We play as a team and we are willing to fight for each other, and you need that ability.

“It’s like we are a family, willing to do things together and fight for it.”

Arsenal skipper Vieira praised Henry’s contribution to Arsenal’s successthis season.

“He will tell you it is a team game but he has been tremendous in the last two games when we have been a little bit tired and needed someone to do something special,” Vieira said.


Lauren (Arsenal)
John Terry (Chelsea)

Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Patrick Vieira (Arsenal)

Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United).