Date: June 17, 2014

Result: Russia 1-1 South Korea


Russia: Kerzhakov 74

South Korea: Lee 68

Venue: Arena Pantanal, Cuiaba 

Attendance: 37,603

Match overview: Russia and South Korea shared the points following an uninspiring 1-1 draw in Cuiaba. After a disappointing first-half, things picked up after the break with two goals in the space of six minutes midway through the second half. Korea took the lead thanks to a goalkeeping howler from Russia’s Igor Akinfeev, who let substitute Lee Keun-ho’s shot through his hands. Korea’s keeper Jung Sung-ryung played a part in the Russian equaliser, spilling a shot and allowing Alexander Kerzhakov to turn the loose ball home.

Key moment: Russia coach Fabio Capello will take some credit for his substitutions, including striker Alexander Kerzhakov, who scored his team’s equaliser. But it could also be argued that Capello had picked the wrong team in the first place, with Russia’s most creative player, Alan Dzagoev, left on the bench and only introduced with 20 minutes remaining.

Man of the match: Nobody really deserved this, but FIFA gave the official award to Korean midfielder Son Heung-min, who gave a neat and tidy performance.

Matter of fact: With his goal Alexander Kerzhakov equalled the national team record of 26 goals held by Vladimir Beschastnykh.

Talking point: Fabio Capello, who watched England keeper Robert Green make a similar mistake to Akinfeev’s four years ago in South Africa, must be wondering why his goalkeepers have such bad luck.


Goal attempts

  • Russia 12
  • South Korea 10

On target

  • Russia 5
  • South Korea 6


  • Russia 4
  • South Korea 4



  • 01 Igor Akinfeev
  • 22 Andrei Yeschenko
  • 04 Sergei Ignashevich
  • 14 Vasili  Berutzutski (c)
  • 23 Dmitri Kombarov
  • 08 Denis Glushakov (Igor Denisov 72)
  • 19 Alexander Samedov
  • 17 Igor Shatov (Alan Dzagoev 59)
  • 20 Victor Fayzulin
  • 18 Yuri Zhirkov (Alexander Kerzhakov 71)
  • 09 Alexander Kokorin

South Korea:

  • 01 Jung Sung-ryung
  • 20 Hong Jeung-ho (Hwang Seok-ho 73)
  • 03 Yun Suk-young
  • 05 Kim Young-gwon
  • 12 Lee Young
  • 13 Koo Ja-cheol (c)
  • 14 Han Kook-young
  • 16 Ki Sung-young
  • 17 Lee Chung-yong
  • 09 Son Heung-min (Kim Bo-kyung 84)
  • 10 Park Chu-young (Lee Keun-ho 56)

Yellow cards:


  • Shatov 30

South Korea:

  • Son Heung-min 13, Ki Sung-young 30, Koo Ja-cheol 90

Referee: Nestor Pitana (Arg)